My Writing Journey ….

 

writing-imageI began with reading like everyone else. But since grade 1, I was the kid that had to come home and immediately do her homework, read the books assigned etc. I loved school and the stories.

I wrote reflection papers and in Grade 7 received honourable mentions about my insight into arranged marriages by my social studies teacher.

I found my love of poetry in Grade 9, and by Grade 10 I was accused of plagiarism by my English teacher because my poems were so good, I couldn’t have written them, since I could not write an essay to save my life. 😛

Through these poems, I first started to put words to the abuse that I felt. The one at monsterstood out the most, was the one I titled “the monster inside me”. I was so afraid someone would find this, that I folded it into the tiniest rectangle and hid it in the crack between my dresser and mirror. Back then, I felt debilitating shame about the fact that I was abused, I didn’t know yet, that is what it was called. I just felt like an evil child, that no one had yet discovered, because I was so sweet and loved by others.

Then, I discovered journalling, and in writing, for the first time, disclosed that I was sexually abused to my parenting teacher, for our journalling project. Thanks to her braveness, I learned that its still abuse even if you became aroused. I then slowly learned, I wasn’t a monster or an evil child. (Thank God!)

Since age 16, I have been writing in my journals. I then started a blog. When it became popular amongst people who knew me, I felt vulnerable/exposed and shut down. I did not write for many years, until I decided to start this blog, this time keeping it anonymous. Again, when I received validation and views, I again, began to feel exposed, fear and doubt creeped in.

writers-blockI will be honest. I have let fear keep me from writing. But I have also been connecting with my authentic self. She loves writing, she is very creative. She can paint, dance, sculpt, decorate, you name it. So now, I am going to try my best to be brave again, and continue with my journey of writing, because it is also my journey of authenticity, self-expression, and joy from sharing my true self with others. 🙂

Please leave a comment if you have any advice for me on how to overcome this type of writer’s block!!!!!

Chit Chat. ♥

5 thoughts on “My Writing Journey ….

  1. I too am on this same journey. You can do it! You know what to write and how to write it. Just start thinking, “I remember”
    What ever comes to thought, write it down. That’s what helped me. Good luck and God bless 🙂

  2. Write for you. Don’t worry about those of us who read. Write to learn about you. To reflect on your own thoughts. I find that I will get anxious about my blog when I start paying too much attention to my stats. If you write because you love it, like I do, then don’t worry how much or how often. It is anonymous. You are safe to share things here. 🙂

    • Thank you so much Masqued … I needed that reminder. It is annonymous, and I do love to write for myself, to learn about myself. I will definitely do my best not to get caught up with stats! 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement 🙂

Leave a Reply

